Latest sports news

NHL Awards History: Oldest & Youngest Winners


We updated this list from the THW Archives of the oldest and youngest winners in NHL history, originally published Jan. 19, 2015.

Explore everything hockey with THW’s Hockeypedia pages.

And, before you say anything, I didn’t do the math to figure out who was older or younger by months if there was a tie, except for the Calder Trophy’s youngest winner.

(All stats and records courtesy of

Hart Memorial Trophy (Season MVP)

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Sidney Crosby – 2006-07 & Wayne Gretzky – 1979-80

Wayne Gretzky NHL Jersey Number 99
Gretzky and his #99 (Photo by B Bennett/Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

Oldest to win the award: 35-years old, Herb Gardiner – 1926-27 & Eddie Shore – 1937-38

Average age: 27-years old

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points)

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Sidney Crosby – 2006-07, 36 goals and 120 points

Oldest to win the award: 37-years old, Martin St. Louis – 2012-13, 17 goals and 60 points

Average age: 26-years old

RELATED: 5 Weird Facts About the Art Ross Trophy

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals)

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Rick Nash – 2003-04, 41 goals & Steven Stamkos – 2009-10, 51 goals

Oldest player to win the award: 34-years old, Alexander Ovechkin – 2019-20, 49 goals

Average age: 26.5-years old

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender)

Youngest to win the award: 18-years old, Tom Barrasso – 1983-84

Oldest to win the award: 40-years old, Johnny Bower – 1964-65 & Jacques Plante – 1968-69

Average age: 28.9-years old

Latest News & Highlights

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Best Defenceman)

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Bobby Orr – 1967-68

Oldest to win the award: 40-years old, Nicklas Lidstrom – 2010-11

Average age: 28.3years old

RELATED: The Best NHL Defencemen Ever

Calder Memorial Trophy (Best Rookie)

Youngest to win the Calder Trophy: 18-years old, Nathan MacKinnon – 2013-14 (three and a half months younger than 2010-11 winner Jeff Skinner)

Oldest to win the award: 31-years old, Sergei Makarov – 1989-90 (played for the Soviet Red Army teams until joining the Calgary Flames in 1989)

Average age: 21.5-years old

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)

Youngest to win the award: 20-years old, Steve Kasper – 1981-82

Oldest to win the award: 36-years old, Rod Brind’Amour – 2006-07 & Rick Meagher – 1989-90

Average age: 28.2-years old

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as Voted by the NHLPA)

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Sidney Crosby – 2006-07

Oldest to win the award: 33-years old, Jaromir Jagr – 2005-06 & Dominik Hasek – 1997-98

Goaltender Dominik Hasek
Goaltender Dominik Hasek (Photo by Denis Brodeur/NHLI via Getty Images)

Average age: 26-years old

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)

Youngest to win the award: 20-years old, Patrick Roy – 1985-86

Oldest to win the award: 36-years old, Tim Thomas – 2010-11

Average age: 26.9-years old

Source link

🤞 Daily Sports Newsletter

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.